Author Spotlight: Russ Colchamiro

Russ Colchamiro is the author of the rollicking space adventure, Crossline, the hilarious sci-fi backpacking comedy series, Finders Keepers, Genius de Milo, and Astropalooza, and is editor of the new anthology, Love, Murder & Mayhem, all with Crazy 8 Press.

Russ lives in New Jersey with his wife, two children, and crazy dog, Simon, who may in fact be an alien himself. Russ has also contributed to several other anthologies, including Tales of the Crimson Keep, Pangaea, and Altered States of the Union, and TV Gods 2. He is now at work on a top-secret project, and a Finders Keepers spin-off.

As a matter of full disclosure, readers should not be surprised if Russ spontaneously teleports in a blast of white light followed by screaming fluorescent color and the feeling of being sucked through a tornado. It’s just how he gets around — windier than the bus, for sure, but much quicker.

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

Author Interview

Q: What inspires you to write?

A: I’m compelled to write. It’s a fundamental part of who I am. But ever since I’ve been a dad—I have seven-year-old twins, a boy and girl, my ninjas—I’m more inspired than ever. They love that I’m a writer, which gives me additional fuel and passion. They know all of my book covers, and ask me all the time to write books for them. That could certainly be on the way.

 

Q: What kind of research goes into your books?

A: Depends on the book. For my Finders Keepers scifi comedy backpacking series – Finders Keepers, Genius de Milo, and Astropalooza — I relied heavily on notes I took when I backpacked through Europe and New Zealand, reviewing journal entries, maps, photos, receipts, etc, as I wanted the details to be spot on. When I’m writing ‘outer space’ scenes, I research star coordinates, names of galaxies, theories on time travel, space travel, and the multi-verse. For Crossline, which includes a key sequence where the pilot is viewing Earth from space, I researched astronauts and how it felt for them to be soaring through the Milky Way. I don’t write hard science, but I want my scifi novels to have a basis in facts where it makes sense.

 

Q: What are you working on at the moment?

A: I’m writing a top secret project I can’t talk about yet, but soon. I’m also starting to plot out my next book, which will focus on my private eye character, Angela Hardwicke. She’s appeared in three of my books already—including the new anthology I edited—Love, Murder & Mayhem.  The collection has 15 stories, from 15 authors (including me) with every story containing at least one act of love or romance, at least one murder, and lots of mayhem. I initially thought I’d get nothing but private stories—I did a get a few—but the anthology contains superhero and supervillain stories, off-world and space cruiser stories, as well as A.I., private eyes, sleep surrogates, time travel, an aliens/monsters mash-up and … one DuckBob!

I also plan on writing several Hardwicke books going forward.

 

Q: Have you read any books that have inspired you to improve or change yourself in any way?

A: Many. In addition to fiction I read a great deal of philosophy, mythology, psychology, spirituality, and motivational texts. Some of my favorites include The Road Less Traveled series by M. Scott Peck, Over the Top, by Zig Ziglar, The Hero with a Thousand Faces, by Joseph Campbell, and Pulling Your Own Strings, by Wayne Dyer, just to name a few.

 

Q: What part of the writing process do you enjoy the most?

A: Editing. That’s where I can start sculpting the raw text I’ve already written, filling in the gaps, adding nuance, and helping bring a basic premise to a more fully realized life. I tend to do many drafts—anywhere from five to eight is typical for me. That’s where I find the ‘magic’ in the stories. The editing stage is where I dive into the details, and explore the themes, character development, and subtle moments that are more difficult for me to focus on during the initial draft.

 

Check out his books!

 

Love science fiction stories that all include elements of Love, Murder & Mayhem?

Then welcome to the latest anthology from Crazy 8 Press! This amazing collection from 15 all-star authors will delight you with superheros and supervillains. AIs, off-worlders, and space cruisers. We’ve also got private eyes, sleep surrogates, time travelers, aliens and monsters—and one DuckBob!

With tales ranging from wild and wacky to dark and gritty to heartbreaking and fun, take the deadly leap with authors Meriah Crawford, Paige Daniels, Peter David, Mary Fan, Michael Jan Friedman, Robert Greenberger, Glenn Hauman Paul Kupperberg, Karissa Laurel, Kelly Meding, Aaron Rosenberg, Hildy Silverman, Lois Spangler, Patrick Thomas, and editor Russ Colchamiro.

You’ll never look at Love, Murder & Mayhem the same way again—and that’s just the way we like it.

Goodreads  *   Amazon

 

For fans of Douglas Adams, Christopher Moore, Tom Robins, Third Rock from the Sun, Groundhog Day, Hot Tub Time Machine, and Harold & Kumar go to White Castle.

Traversing Europe, New Zealand, and the backbone of Eternity, Finders Keepers is a raunchy, sci-fi backpacking comedy that not only tackles friendship, sex, commitment, and desire, but also God, reincarnation–and what really happened to the dinosaurs!

On a backpacking trip through Europe, Jason Medley and Theo Barnes stumble through hash bars and hangovers; religious zealots and stalkers; food poisoning and thunderstorms; cute girls; overnight trains; fever-pitch hallucinations–and the spectre of adult responsibility!

But when a jar containing the Universe’s DNA falls from Eternity, these new friends find their loyalties put to the test . . . unaware that a motley crew from another realm is chasing them across the globe, with the fate of the Milky Way hanging in the balance.

For fans of Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams, Christopher Moore, Tom Robins, Third Rock from the Sun, Groundhog Day, Hot Tub Time Machine, and Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure.

Finders Keepers is the first book in author Russ Cochamiro’s scifi comedy trilogy.

 Check out the Character Illustrations

 Goodreads * Amazon * Barnes & Noble

 

Genius de Milo (Finders Keepers #2) by Russ Colchamiro

Milo — the Universe’s Great Disruptor and ultimate gremlin — is creating havoc in the galaxy, with the Earth fluxing in and out of Existence. Which, of course, means no rest for best pals Jason Medley and Theo Barnes!

After a backpacking trip through Europe and New Zealand that — thanks to a jar of Cosmic Building Material they found — almost wiped out the galaxy once before, Theo now finds that his twin girls are teleporting, and Jason can’t tell which version of his life is real.

Joined by the mysterious Jamie — a down-and-out hotel clerk from Eternity — Jason and Theo reunite on a frantic, cross-country chase across America, praying they can retrieve that radioactive jar, circumvent Milo, and save the Earth from irrevocable disaster.

In author Russ Colchamiro’s uproarious sequel to Finders Keepers, he finally confirms what we’ve long suspected … that there’s just no de Milo quite like a Genius de Milo.

Check out the Character Illustrations

 Goodreads * Amazon * Barnes & Noble

 

Astropalooza (Finders Keepers 3) by Russ Colchamiro

Astropalooza, the greatest celebration in the Universe, is just days away. And it’ll be a party like no other — namely, the last one ever!

Backpacking pals Jason Medley and Theo Barnes have already saved the Earth — twice! — nearly obliterating themselves in the process, thanks to a missing jar of the Universe’s DNA. But things are about to get a whole lot … worse.

Because thanks to our bumbling heroes, the next Big Bang is imminent, with two massive energy waves barreling through space towards one another. When they collide, it’ll be the end of Existence as we know it.

Can Jason and Theo finally return their radioactive jar before those waves crash, wiping away the Cosmos? Can they save the Universe … again?

With Astropalooza, author Russ Colchamiro brings you the epic conclusion of his hilarious Finders Keepers trilogy. So join the party. You’ll never have so much fun going out with a Bang!

Check out the Character Illustrations

 Goodreads * Amazon

 

 

 

The Amazon purchase links in this post are affiliate links. Purchasing through them helps sustain Bound 2 Escape.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *